Advertising

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Status

Default Your Musical Tastes

Sponsored Links

OK. I'm a producer. I've been told by some, that I am outstanding, and by others that I am boring as all get out. The number one reason I am "outstanding" is because of my eclectic style; the number one reason I am "boring" is because nothing really jumps out at people.

Now, the type of music that I make is the type of music I want to hear. If I don't like it myself, how can I be inspired to write anything for it? I'm not changing for anyone or any reason just to sell records.

Let me try to describe my sound. It's a blend of hip hop with electronica, techno, jazz, and a sort of extremely mellow trance. If you've ever heard of groups like Kiln, The Boards of Canada or The Album Leaf.. they have a sort of pipe dreamy sound. I take that and add a beat. I guess my music could be played in a lounge. It's the type of music you'd hear in a movie while someone's sitting at a traffic light in downtown manhattan on a rainy afternoon.. everything seems to slow down as they watch the people cross the street and you can hear each individual raindrop hit the roof of the car.

Now.. let me get to the point. Does that type of thing sell well? Are most people more inclined to go after bass driven beats, uptempo, hard-hitting types of songs sans any real staying melody? Can I get away with relaxing, melodic, abstract-ochestral music? Eccentricity doesn't do too well in this world of ours does it?

I was told I wouldn't go very far without something that could be played in a club. And I wouldn't argue. What are your tastes?

----

You can tell I probably get F's on all my essays...

Status