How to license music for TV commercials and soundtracks

Rob E

Reaction score
Hallo people of Adtunes! New member with some questions that I hope aren't asked all time...

I basically work with some friends and we've set up a company with record label and artist management branches, and more recently tho- we've started a bespoke music composition service. Now we've had a couple of loose jobs here and there but we're finding it really difficult to link up with people and find work.

Does anyone know of a good place to link up with some people looking for tv/radio ad music an' ting?

I'd be very appreciative of any advice anyone had to share ;]

I think you might find more useful help/info looking at more industry-related websites, such as Adforum.com and Wheresspot.com. Wheresspot has an active Yahoo Discussion Group, and a lot of industry related info/links in their Yahoo Group's Links section.

Hello out there,

I have a large catalog of masters which are instrumental cover versions of popular songs. Many would be perfect for TV commercials.

What is the best way to go about licensing them to TV commercials? Where can get a list of clients to pitch my master to? Who should I contact at the ad agencies?

I do not control the publishing, but the covers are not derivative works and I have contractually obtained the rights to license these masters to 3rd parties.

Any suggestions would be greatly appretiated.

Thanks!

Kennedy

Originally posted by Kenedy@Mar 2 2006, 02:51 PM
I do not control the publishing, but the covers are not derivative works and I have contractually obtained the rights to license these masters to 3rd parties.
You'll need publishing rights as well, no?